Meeting The Enneagram: A Defining Moment In My Life

It was a game-changer and a life-changer when I encountered The Enneagram for the first time. No, it's not an occult spirit, even though it might sound like that. It's one of the most powerful tools I've come across in terms of providing personal insight and helping me to understand myself, my friends and my family. I've completed a Myers Briggs test, I know what my DISC profile is, I have my Hermann Brain Dominance Indicator results and I've done the StrengthsFinder, but not one of these has been as illuminating as The Enneagram. So, what is it exactly?

The Enneagram is a  model of nine personality types. Every person has elements of all nine types within them, but ultimately there is a dominant number or type for each individual. Among other things, the types are distinguished by different ego fixations, fears, desires, temptations etc.

Type 1: The Reformer or Perfectionist

Type 2: The Helper

Type 3: The Achiever or Performer

Type 4: The Individualist

Type 5: The Investigator or Observer

Type 6: The Loyalist

Type 7: The Enthusiast

Type 8: The Challenger 

Type 9: The Peacemaker

 The Enneagram further defines levels of development e.g. describing what a certain type looks and acts like at unhealthy levels, average levels and healthy levels. Every triangle within the circle is used to link the behaviour of types together. For example, a healthy three will look like a healthy six, but under stress a three will look like an unhealthy nine.




For descriptions of each type, check out The Enneagram Institute. There is an incredible amount of information available online, but if you want to get comprehensive results, I suggest you take the RHETI test here. It will cost you $12, but the value you'll get far exceeds that amount. That was what happened in my case at least.  

 P.S. I'd definitely recommend you take the test before you get married.

Thumbnail Image: Source